Scavenge a Prom Dress

March 31, 2009 at 10:36 am | Posted in News | 22 Comments

dressesA Tennessee thrift shop is doing its part to help local girls’ prom dreams come true, while raising money for a good cause.

Domestic-violence shelter Change is Possible is holding its annual Prom Dress Sale this coming Saturday at its Erwin, Tennessee CHIPS thrift store. Some of the dresses are vintage and secondhand, but many are nearly new or actually new, donated by local stores and still bearing their original tags. At Saturday’s sale, all the dresses will be priced at $25. To raise awareness about the sale, students from nearby Unicoi County High School strode the catwalk last Friday in a fashion show, modeling prom dresses now in stock at CHIPS (as seen in the photo at left, from the Erwin Record).

CHIPS received more than 90 dresses donated from area stores. Proceeds from the sale will go toward services such as counseling referrals, court advocacy and sheltering.

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. glad to see the good ol’ gold award project is still tickin’!

    hope it’s as successful as the first time :)

  2. An A-line dress is usually a fit that can hug your curves at all the right places since
    it’s narrow at the very top and flares out in the sides and bottom that could conceal trouble spots like rounder hips and backsides which enables it to balance out the entire body start by making it look longer. And exactly what a joy, when an assistant pushed a comfy chair my method to have a rest on. After JFK was assassinated, Jackie refused to consider away from the blood-stained suit.

  3. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome,
    great written and include almost all important infos.
    I would like to peer extra posts like this
    .

  4. That’s why people wear one of the better dresses for the necessary event. Small boutiques and dress shops have a tendency to stock dress samples. avoid tops with sleeve including cap sleeve, puffy sleeve, ruffled sleeve, pleated sleeve or sleeve with great deal of details.

  5. When some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she
    wishes to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over
    here.

  6. Thanks for finally writing about >Scavenge a Prom Dress | Scavenging
    <Liked it!

  7. I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers however this
    post is actually a good article, keep it up.

  8. It’s an awesome article designed for all the online users; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  9. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account
    it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we
    communicate?

  10. I’ve learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you set to create this sort of excellent informative website.

  11. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type
    on a number of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to
    another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    content into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  12. Exceptional post but I was wanting to know if you could write
    a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  13. The more expensive insurance company will charge R674 for a 15-year term.
    Tailoring your vehicle insurance policy to pair your personal requirements can make it more affordable.
    It’s easy then to compare them side by side to find the best prices and coverage.

  14. I got this web page from my friend who told me about this web site and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative articles
    or reviews here.

  15. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other
    websites? I have a blog based on the same information yyou discuss and
    would really like to have you sharde some stories/information. Iknow myy reaaders would enjoy your work.
    If you are evrn remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  16. Howdy! Do youu know if they make anny plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve wofked hard
    on. Anyy recommendations?

  17. I think the admin of this website is genuinely working hard for his web site, since here efery data is quality based stuff.

  18. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy onn the eyes which makes it much more
    pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire oout a
    developer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

  19. What i do not understood is actualy how you’re no longer relly
    much more smartly-favored than you migvht be right now. You’re so intelligent.
    You realize therefore significantly relating to this topic,
    made mee in my opinion imagine it frkm a lot of numerous
    angles. Its likle men and women aren’t interested umless it is something to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your personal stuffs nice. Always handle it
    up!

  20. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visitt of this weblog; this website includes
    awesome and truly fine material in support of readers.

  21. Good day!I know this is somewhat off topic butt I wass wondering
    iif you knew where I could get a cqptcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using tthe same blog platform as yourrs and I’m havinbg problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  22. fasfa.org

    Scavenge a Prom Dress | Scavenging


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

